Fiber Optic, CATx, DAC Cables and AOCs: What’s the Difference?

Looking to expand your computer networking system? If so, you’ll want to ensure that you use the most efficient network cables. The type of cables that will work best for your system will depend largely on your data communications needs and existing network equipment. There are four main types of computer network cables:

  1. Fiber Optic Cables
  2. CATx (x = 5, 6 or 7) Twisted Pair Cables
  3. DAC (Direct Attached Copper) Cables
  4. AOCs (Active Optical Cables)

Each type of computer network cable utilizes a separate method of transmitting data and is best suited for different applications. The following infographic illustrates the differences between fiber optic, CATx (twisted pair), DAC cables and AOCs.

Computer Network Cables Infographic

Founded in 2003, FluxLight Inc. is a manufacturer and online retailer of optical networking components, including: fiber optic transceivers, optical cables and accessories, and media converters. All optical interconnect products are 100% MSA compliant and 100% OEM compatible. For more information, visit:

Leave a Reply